Election Announcement : Your New PPN Representatives

2018 Election Results

Following a successful election night on Thursday 19th April, 2018, Sligo PPN are pleased to announce the successful candidates elected to the following committees;

Sligo PPN Secretariat (8 Members)

1. David Tuffy: Rep for Ballymote-Tobercurry MD
2. Thomas Walsh: Rep for Sligo MD
3. Michael Bell (Environmental College)
4. Michael Kirby (Environmental College)
5. Ann Donnegan (Social Inclusion College)
6. Dr. Jennifer Van Aswegen (Social Inclusion College)
7. Gerry O’Connor (Community & Voluntary College)
8. Ann Marie Snee (Community & Voluntary College)

Sligo LCDC (5 PPN Representatives)

1. Dr. Jennifer Van Aswegen (Social Inclusion College)
2. Elizabeth King (Social Inclusion College)
3. Finbarr Filan (Community & Voluntary College)
4. Jackie Sweeney (Community & Voluntary College)
5. Michael Kirby (Environmental College)

North West Regional Drug & Alcohol Taskforce (NWRDATF) (4 Vacancies)

1. Patrick Benson (Community & Voluntary College)
2. Gerry O’Connor (Community & Voluntary College)
3. Dr. Parvez A Butt (Social Inclusion College)
4. Vacant position to be filled from Social Inclusion College

SPC3: Planning, Community & Economic Development, Arts & Culture (2 Vacancies)

1. Arianna Somers (Community & Voluntary College)
2. Vacant position to be filled from Social Inclusion College

A huge thanks to all PPN groups who took the time to send in a postal vote or attend on the night.

Sligo PPN would also like to take this opportunity to offer special thanks to our speakers on the night, MC Vanessa Clarke and presenters Liz King and Gerry O’Connor. We also want to acknowledge the fantastic information session on GDPR delivered by Tony Geraghty from Cloudstrong www.cloudstrong.ie


Candidates for PPN Elections 2018

A Plenary Meeting of Sligo PPN is scheduled to take place on Thursday, 19th April 2018 in Sligo Park Hotel at 7pm

Information on the Candidates can be viewed at Elections – 2018

Elections of  PPN Representatives to the following Committees will take place

* Secretariat – Sligo PPN
* Sligo LCDC
* Strategic Policy Committee (SPC) 3
* North West Regional Drug & Alcohol Task Force

Alcohol Related Harm Profile for Sligo

Our community reps on the NW Drug and Alcohol Task Force have alerted us to the ‘Alcohol Related Harm Profile 2017’.  Key facts for Sligo include:

  • Sligo has the 4nd lowest mortality rate for alcohol related causes for all ages per 100,000 population (53.0, National 65.4) in Ireland.
  • The rate of potential years of life lost per 100,000 from selected alcohol related causes in Sligo is higher than average for males (1608) and lower than average for females (171.5) than nationally (males 1289.3 and females 377.1). Sligo ranks 7th for males and 22nd for females nationally
  • In 2014, Sligo had above average male in-patient rate per 100,000 for mental and behavioural disorders due to alcohol disease (135.7, National 74.1).

Find out more: Sligo alcohol Profile

Sligo PPN Submission to the Ireland 2040 National Planning Framework

Following a consultation with members and the Sligo PPN Secretariat, a submission to the Ireland 2040 National Planning Framework was made.  This National Plan will set out development targets for the next 20 years – we want sustainable development in Sligo and a greater equality in living standards for all our communities.  To see our submission click here.  To see other submissions made by Sligo PPN go to our Influencing Policy Page.

2017 Grants Scheme – Sligo County Council

Sligo County Council invite applications for the following 2017 Grants Schemes:

  • Community & Voluntary Grants 2017
    The aim of this grant is to support and encourage events and activities which are undertaken by Community and Voluntary Groups.
  • Tidy Towns Grants 2017
    The aim of this grant is to support Tidy Towns Committees who have entered the National Tidy Towns Competition 2017.
  • Burial Ground Grants 2017
    The aim of this grant is to provide financial assistance to Burial Ground Committees/Groups who maintain and enhance their local burial grounds.

Application Forms and further information is available at http://www.sligococo.ie/Grants/

Closing date for receipt of Application Forms is 4pm on Friday 31st March 2017